Album cover


Birds In The Ground

While Duster went into hibernation in the year 2000, Clay Parton’s four-track never stopped rolling. Recorded alone at home over several years, Birds To The Ground is an album of 30-something, post-9/11 malaise. Under his Eiafuawn (Everything Is All Fucked Up And What Not) acronym Parton hides beneath layers of fuzzy and clean guitars, his hesitant, cottony vocal disappear into noise. “I’ll be a ghost, you’ll go out dancing,” he confirms.

Released on Parton’s long-running The Static Cult Label in 2006, the album was ignored upon release, though managed to get a one-time pressing on the Swedish Pillowscars imprint a couple years later. An album’s worth of songs were dribbled out on a few Internet forums but a follow up never materialized. “That sweet studio deal never worked out, and the tape machines are just collecting dust in the garage,” Parton last wrote of the project.

Track List

  1. Eiafuawn Bunny
  2. Eiafuawn No More Like That
  3. Eiafuawn Birds
  4. Eiafuawn The Voice Of Music
  5. Eiafuawn Bees
  6. Eiafuawn The Coffin Was So Light I Thought It Might Float Away
  7. Eiafuawn Good God Y'all
  8. Eiafuawn Secret Gypsy Language
  9. Eiafuawn On A Peoplemover
  10. Eiafuawn Two Thousand Twelve
  11. Eiafuawn The Drunk Pilot And The Romantic Passenger
  12. Eiafuawn Modulator Hustle