Album cover

Eccentric R&B

The Cuca Label

Taking a short detour from our flagship Eccentric Soul series, Eccentric R&B: The Cuca Label collects rare and unheard Wisconsin soul and lo-fi doo-wop from 1961 to 1972. Discoveries include the earliest recordings from The Esquires, a reel of demos by Betty Moorer, and unreleased recordings from Twiliters [sic]. A well-versed Numerophile will recognize cuts from kid soul outfit Step by Step ( NUM016) and girl group legends the Devilettes ( NUM075).

Track List

  1. Twiliters Restless Love
  2. Harvey Scales & The Seven Sounds Glamour Girl
  3. The Devilettes I'll Say Yes
  4. Little Artie & The Pharaohs It's A Puzzle To Me
  5. Birdlegs & Pauline Too Much At Stake
  6. The Esquires You Don't Care
  7. Supreme Four I Lost My Job
  8. Harvey Scales & The Seven Sounds Ten Thousand Years
  9. Betty Moorer One More Time
  10. The Devilettes I'm Leaving You
  11. Supreme Four Patricia (I Love you)
  12. Twiliters We Three
  13. The Devils & The Devilettes Tell Me
  14. Step By Step Time After Time
  15. Harvey Scales & The Seven Sounds Independency
  16. Betty Moorer My Man Lives
  17. Twiliters Can't You Stay A Little Longer
  18. The Devils & The Devilettes Love And Understanding
  19. Step By Step Now You're Gone
  20. Harvey Scales & The Seven Sounds Every Step Of The Way
  21. Twiliters Girl Of My Dreams
  22. The Esquires Bamboo Isle
  23. Artie & The Pharaohs I'll Take Care Of You
  24. Birdlegs & Pauline Mist of a Dream