Album cover

Elisa Waut


Originally issued as a hand-dubbed demo tape in 1982, Elisa Waut’s icy debut gets its first vinyl issue. The Flemish trio of Chery Derycke and siblings Elsje and Hans Helewaut took new wave to its natural conclusion; trading Europe’s organic post-punk approach for the new cold war order of synth and rhythm box. Soviet paranoia, isolation, suicidal musings, and other miscellaneous bouts of young adult depression are covered in both French and English. A 28-minute minimal wave masterpiece.

Track List

  1. Elisa Waut Intro
  2. Elisa Waut Being Strong
  3. Elisa Waut Waiting
  4. Elisa Waut Red Soldier
  5. Elisa Waut Unrath
  6. Elisa Waut Au Claire De La Lune
  7. Elisa Waut Russia
  8. Elisa Waut Summary