Album cover

Frank Potenza

Sand Dance

By the time of Frank Potenza’s 1986 debut on Palo Alto’s TBA label, the nimble guitarist had already spent 15 years on both sides of the educational aisle. Though a graduate of the Berklee School of Music in Boston and later an adjunct professor at Long Beach City College, Potenza’s real schooling came at the foot of legendary jazz guitarist Joe Pass where he majored in chord melody and inversions. Pass’s teachings are on full display on Sand Dance, shuffling effortlessly between bossa nova rhythm, pop ‘n’ slap style funk, and soft pop hookery. But its Potenzas easy-breezy guitar work that perfectly stitches everything together omnipresently and comforts the listener through every twist and turn. Like a favorite beach, Sand Dance is an album that never gets old and surprises with each revisit.

Track List

  1. Frank Potenza Sand Dance
  2. Frank Potenza Miki
  3. Frank Potenza I'm Into You
  4. Frank Potenza Freddie's Dead
  5. Frank Potenza What's Going On
  6. Frank Potenza Three Flights Up
  7. Frank Potenza Waiting For You
  8. Frank Potenza High Frequency