Album cover

Jim Spencer

2nd Look

Jim Spencer was always looking for a stairway to success beyond, but Milwaukee was a Mobius loop he could not escape. He played many roles with grace; he was a musician, songwriter, poet, magus, and congenial salesman of ideas. He was a dealer in rare books, antiquities, and fantasies. He was a D.I.Y. publisher and indie recording artist at a time when circulating self-produced poetry and music beyond one’s hometown was a challenge on par with swimming the English Channel. He was Milwaukee famous—at least to anyone who cared about music and poetry. He was not much known elsewhere.

He released three albums under his own name and one as Major Arcana, a band-persona that enabled him to escape his singer-songwriter image. All were issued under the imprimatur of cryptically-monikered labels: Thoth, Akashic, and Castalia Records. “He had forbidden books in his basement,” said frequent collaborator Sigmund Snopek, a classically trained progressive rock keyboardist. “He was fascinated by other cultures and religions and incorporated some of that into his music.”

1974’s 2nd Look, his second LP, finds Jim Spencer in a deeper, darker place. The ten song album was assisted by Milwaukee scene star Sigmund Snopek III on keyboards and flute, and features a pair of songs written by and with Anonymous’s Ron Matelic.

Track List

  1. Jim Spencer Second Look
  2. Jim Spencer No Place To Land
  3. Jim Spencer There Comes A Time
  4. Jim Spencer What Am I Doing Here?
  5. Jim Spencer Just A Little Time With You
  6. Jim Spencer Laura Fair
  7. Jim Spencer Interlude
  8. Jim Spencer Lament
  9. Jim Spencer Next To You
  10. Jim Spencer The Devil Is A Fat Man (Downright Vatican Blackmail Boogie)