Album cover


From The Cuca Gospel

Tucked deep into the wilds of Wisconsin’s Dairyland, Cuca Records was the custom recording and pressing outfit for the Badger state. From its opening in 1959 to the end in 1973, Jim Kirchstein recorded nearly 2000 sides ranging from polka and gospel to country and R&B, and issued over 1000 45s on his Sara, Night Owl, Polka Dot, Top Gun, Psalms, Lucky Leprechaun, Jolly Dutchmen, Sounds of Wisconsin, Age of Aquarius, Banana, Citation, Butternut, Dee Jay, and American imprints.

In the early 1970s Cuca’s open door policy inspired Midwestern gospel artists to make the trek to the Sauk City, Wisconsin recording studio. We’ve assembled 15 raw harmonies and tortured churners from the coveted Psalms sub-label, sourced from the original master tapes.

Track List

  1. The Gill Singers Lord Lift Me Up
  2. The Vocalairs Hand Of The Lord
  3. Sensational Armon Singers Glory To His Name
  4. Singing Souls Of Milwaukee I've Been Born Again
  5. The Gill Singers Don't Put Off Today For Tomorrow
  6. Holy Providers Surely He Died
  7. Sensatonal Armon Singers Where Jesus Is
  8. Jordan Travelers Go Where Jesus Is
  9. Buford Aires Precious Lord
  10. The Gloviares It's A Blessing
  11. Sensational Armon Singers Everybody's Talking About Heaven
  12. The Harmony Five God Is Using Me
  13. The Gill Singers In The End
  14. Sensational Armon Singers Jesus Is Alive
  15. All National Choir Give Me A Clean Heart