Album cover

Spare Parts

In The Cuca Garage

Tucked deep into the wilds of Wisconsin’s Dairyland, Cuca Records was the custom recording and pressing outfit for the Badger state. From its opening in 1959 to the end in 1973, Jim Kirchstein recorded nearly 2000 sides ranging from polka and gospel to country and R&B, and issued over 1000 45s on his Sara, Night Owl, Polka Dot, Top Gun, Psalms, Lucky Leprechaun, Jolly Dutchmen, Sounds of Wisconsin, Age of Aquarius, Banana, Citation, Butternut, Dee Jay, and American imprints.

If you won your high school Battle of the the Bands in Wisconsin in the 60s, you probably recorded a demo tape at Cuca Records as your grand prize. Spare Parts is a collection of teen garage, sunshine pop, surf, and whatever else you played in your parent’s garage.

Track List

  1. The Trodden Path In This World I Need Love
  2. The Wanderer's Rest Don’t Know What I'd Do
  3. The Caliphs Today, Tomorrow
  4. The Willing Mind Decide
  5. The Hitchhikers Feel A Whole Lot Better
  6. Unknown Stop, Look and Listen
  7. The Henchmen VI Is Love Real
  8. Bob Kirk Girl Talk
  9. The Del Rays Ain’t Gonna Eat Out My Heart
  10. The Scarlet Henchmen Crystal Palace
  11. Kiriae Crucible The Salem Witch Trial
  12. The Up Stairs Operator Please
  13. Unknown Day Dreamin’ Girl
  14. Chances R Your Love’s Not Real
  15. The Collarmen Try To Understand Me
  16. The Wanderers Rest You’ll Forget
  17. Challengers “Of Who” Leave Me Be