Album cover

Cities of Darkscorch

Board Game

In the brave tradition of George and Charles Parker, Milton Bradley, and Gary Gygax comes Cities of Darkscorch—the Numero Group’s embattled first attempt at board game creation. Cities is the playable companion to Warfaring Strangers: Darkscorch Canticles, the label’s 48th mainline release and a harrowing dive into the Stygian caverns of the American hard rock underground. A dice-rolling, card-driven, heavy rock band van ride through a fantasy landscape, Cities of Darkscorch could not begin to exist without Robert Soden, who, in 1975, set about creating a tapestry of maps, floorplans, and dungeon schema—the D&D-based lands of Eldara. Expanding upon Soden’s meticulous vision, Cities of Darkscorch required newly commissioned card art and band logos to summon up a gravely themed mythical land of desolate outposts, warring bands, and the familiar ills that befall them.

Roleplaying as any of Darkscorch Canticles’ sixteen determined bands, one to six players traverse the broken roads of Darkscorch—battling such forbidding quartets as Grimsword, Narcissus, Ass-Centaur and 97 more—to collect city banners from such pits of hard rock competition as Afterdath, Wizard’s Wellspring, and Throk. Along the way, players may augment their bands through the use of fate cards with new artwork from the demented minds of John McGavock McConnell and Eliza Childress. The ultimate goal is Numenor, victory, and a record contract penned in brimstone, VD, and pot smoke.

Cities of Darkscorch, Supa Edition includes all of the elements of Numero’s Cities of Darkscorch game, plus a bonus 7” featuring “Animal Woman” b/w “Red Brained Woman” by LA heavy rock honchos Supa Chief. Also included is a custom-printed guitar pick, which serves double duty as an additional Cities of Darkscorch player token. Full color pic sleeve features a game board map extension, complete with its own exclusive Darkscorch city.

  • Supa Edition Game + 2LP + 45

    1 x 25" x 25" full color game board
    16 x wooden player tokens / 45 adapters
    6 x banner boards
    1 x 100 270gsm “Fate” playing cards
    1 x 100 270gsm “Foe” playing cards
    1 x 20-sided combat die
    1 x 6-sided movement die
    1 x 4-sided performer die
    2 x 150 gram LPs
    17 tracks totaling 66 minutes
    1 x 20 page, full color saddle-stitched booklet
    1 x metallic ink, linen-wrapped gatefold jacket
    1 x 5" compact disc sleeve
    1 x compact disc
    1 x 12.75" x 12.75" full color game box
    1 x 7" x 21" extended game board sleeve
    1 x 45 RPM 7" single
    1 x medium weight guitar pick

Track List

  1. Air Twelve O'Clock Satanial
  2. Wrath Warlord
  3. Stonehenge King of the Golden Hall
  4. Triton Warrior Sealed in a Grave
  5. Junction Sorcerer
  6. Stone Axe Slave of Fear
  7. Wizard Seance
  8. Stoned Mace Tasmania
  9. Arrogance Black Death
  10. Sonaura Song of Sauron
  11. Dark Star Spectre
  12. Inside Wizzard King
  13. Space Rock Dark Days
  14. Medusa Black Wizard
  15. Gorgon Medusa Sweet Child
  16. Hellstorm Cry For The Newborn
  17. Stone Axe Snake Bite