Album cover


Duct Tape Soup

Before Green Day, Operation Ivy, and Lookout Records put the East Bay’s burgeoning punk scene on the map, a trio of Berkeley kids were reinventing the genre with music that was melodic but full of feedback, and a singer who sounded like he gargled glass. Crimpshrine's debut EP was Lookout’s fourth release, followed by an album, a second EP, and a slew of split singles and compilation tracks before the band imploded in 1989 after a ridiculous two-and-a-half-month tour in a Ford Pinto hatchback. Formed around teenage binary stars Jeff Ott and Aaron Cometbus, Crimpshrine went through a series of lineups in their four-year run, utilizing future Tilt and Go Sailor bassists Pete Rypins and Paul Curran, and briefly including second guitarist Idon Bryant. Not overtly political, their fiery brand of introspective punk touched on homelessness, teenage pregnancy, drug use, friendship, isolation, and a grimy sort of romance.

Duct Tape Soup is their Lookout-rejected 1988 debut LP that was parsed out to various compilations and split 7”s before being recompiled for Larry Livermore’s punk institution in 1992. After Lookout’s unfortunate demise at the turn of the century, the album went out of print. In cooperation with the band, we’ve remastered the recordings and freshened up the accompanying booklet to make the perfect legacy edition of this ’80s punk classic.

  • LP

    1 150g LP
    1 tip-on single LP jacket
    1 8.5" x 5.5" 28-page zine

Track List

  1. Crimpshrine Trying Too Hard
  2. Crimpshrine Summertime
  3. Crimpshrine Caught Up
  4. Crimpshrine Left Outside Again
  5. Crimpshrine Safely Wasting Away
  6. Crimpshrine Wake Up
  7. Crimpshrine Pick Up The Pieces
  8. Crimpshrine RDC
  9. Crimpshrine Construction
  10. Crimpshrine Closed Doors, Closed Minds
  11. Crimpshrine Pretty Mess
  12. Crimpshrine WNWSFK
  13. Crimpshrine Can You Feel That?
  14. Crimpshrine Along The Way
  15. Crimpshrine Free Will
  16. Crimpshrine Fucked Up Kid