Album cover

Branko Mataja

Over Fields And Mountains

Recalling Ennio Morricone spaghetti westerns, the electrified belly dance music of Omar Khorshid, and ’90s bedroom psychedelia at once, the music of Branko Mataja is from its own epoch. Snatched from the streets of Belgrade as a teenager, Mataja spent World War 2 in a German work camp, escaping the insanity of post-war Europe to settle in North Hollywood to live out the American Dream to its fullest. Crafting handmade music on homemade guitars throughout the 1970s, Mataja taught himself to play in order to pay homage to his ancestral home of Yugoslavia, a place he would never return to except through these guitar meditations.

Track List

  1. Branko Mataja Da Smo Se Ranije Sreli
  2. Branko Mataja Tesko Mi Je Zaboravit Tebe
  3. Branko Mataja Tebi Majko Misli Lete
  4. Branko Mataja Susti Bagrem Beli
  5. Branko Mataja Hteo Bi Te Zaboraviti
  6. Branko Mataja Sreo Sam Te
  7. Branko Mataja Tamo Daleko
  8. Branko Mataja Cija Li Je Livada
  9. Branko Mataja Kafu Mi Draga Ispeci
  10. Branko Mataja Kad Ja Podoh Na Bembasu
  11. Branko Mataja Duboko Je More
  12. Branko Mataja Zapletnicki Cacak