Album cover


Soul Messages From Dimona

Between 1975 and 1981, a group of American ex-pats brought the native sounds of their Detroit and Chicago homes across the Atlantic, combined them with the messages of the Black Hebrew culture, and declared Dimona, Israel, the center of the spiritual universe. What their caravan caught on tape was a deeply joyful, sometimes searing mix of jazz, spiritual soul, inspired funk, and Old Testament gospel psychedelia. Featuring the Soul Messengers, the Spirit Of Israel, Sons Of The Kingdom, and Hebrew Jackson 5 clones the Tonistics, Soul Messages From Dimona is yet another stop on our tour of the soul diaspora and the only living document of a thriving community as it teetered at both the center and edge of the world. The Exodus goes on, and from the South Side of Chicago to the bush in Liberia, from the tangled streets of Tel Aviv to the desert of Dimona, their message continues: salvation, peace, deliverance, love…and 100% parve soul.

  • 2xLP

    2 150g LPs
    1 2-pocket gatefold tip-on jacket
    2 printed inner sleeves

Track List

  1. The Soul Messengers Burn Devil Burn
  2. The Soul Messengers Our Lord And Savior
  3. Tonistics Holding On
  4. Spirit Of Israel Daniel
  5. Sons Of The Kingdom Hey There
  6. The Soul Messengers Go To Proclaim
  7. The Soul Messengers Equilibrium
  8. The Soul Messengers Prince Of Zeal
  9. Sons Of The Kingdom Modernization
  10. The Soul Messengers Heaven Of Heavens
  11. The Soul Messengers Victory
  12. Tonistics Dimona
  13. The Soul Messengers Junky Baby
  14. Spirit Of Israel A Place To Be
  15. The Soul Messengers Messiah
  16. The Soul Messengers Savior In The East