Album cover

Wayfaring Strangers

Guitar Soli

Guitar Soli documents the solo acoustic guitar movement that flourished between 1966 and 1981. The collection highlights a range of little-known innovators who bridged the chronological gap between the American Primitivism of John Fahey and Robbie Basho and the California Modernism of Michael Hedges and William Ackerman. Inside, discover the raga-influenced Ted Lucas, the mad-genius luthier William Eaton, the detuned loner Brad Chequer, and the classically trained, soon-to-be-mystery novelist Daniel Hecht. While Takoma and Windham Hill were laying the groundwork for the new age marketing juggernaut of the mid-’80s, Lucas, Hecht, Eaton, Chequer, Dan Lambert, Scott Witte, Richard Crandell, Jim Ohlschmidt, Tom Smith, Mark Lang, Stephen Cohen, Dwayne Cannan, Dana Westover, and George Cromarty were picking away in tiny cafes. They toiled for years in the same obscurity that Fahey worked to maintain, their privately issued albums sold hand-to-hand or stored in the garage. Consider it the perfect companion for your next seeds-and-stems separation marathon or transcendental meditation retreat.

  • CD

    1 x American made Compact Disc
    15 tracks totaling 51 minutes
    1 x slipcase on recycled chipboard
    1 x 40 page saddle-stitched booklet
    6400 word liner notes by Rob Sevier, Jim Oldschmidt, and Dan Lambert
    Illustrations by Mike Davis
  • 2xLP

    2 x 120 gram LPs
    16 tracks totaling 55 minutes
    1 x gatefold jacket on recycled chipboard
    2 x recycled chipboard inner sleeves
    6400 word liner notes by Rob Sevier, Jim Oldschmidt, and Dan Lambert
    Illustrations by Mike Davis

Track List

  1. Dana Westover Beginning
  2. Ted Lucas Raga In 'D'
  3. Scott Witte Sailor's Dream
  4. George Cromarty Flight
  5. Richard Crandell Diagonal
  6. Daniel Hecht Baba Dream Songs
  7. Jim Ohlschmidt The Delta Freeze
  8. Stephen Cohen No More School
  9. William Eaton Untitled
  10. Mark Lang Strawberry Man
  11. Tom Smith Quidate Quierda
  12. Dan Lambert Charleytown
  13. Brad Chequer Warm River
  14. Dwayne Cannan One Forty Eight
  15. William Eaton Untitled Theme
  16. Scott Witte Grow