Album cover


Frigid Stars

Note: This item is only available to ship to the UK & EU. 

The drowsiest and earliest inklings of the slowcore movement can be traced to Codeine’s 1991 debut. Combining the Louisville scene’s relaxed tempo with doom metal’s distorted slurry, the album is a depressing masterpiece of hushed vocals, noisy guitar, and punishing drums. Remastered from the original analog tapes and recreated in painstaking detail, Frigid Stars LP is the NYC trio’s fuzziest and most affecting work. 

“A deft musical approximation of the sound of water turning to ice, the guitars are so weighed down with distortion that they struggle to march from one chord to the next.” — Pitchfork


BUNDLE & BONUS: Grab all 3 releases in the new Codeine drop and get a bonus 7" single: 3 Angels b/w Pea. Available in Black, Splatter, or Color Blob Vinyl (Numero Exclusive)...choose wisely.

Track List

  1. Codeine D
  2. Codeine Gravel Bed
  3. Codeine Pickup Song
  4. Codeine New Year's
  5. Codeine Second Chance
  6. Codeine Cave-In
  7. Codeine Cigarette Machine
  8. Codeine Old Things