Album cover

Eccentric Soul

The Tragar & Note Labels

Atlanta’s original Eccentric Soul labels, Jesse Jones’ Tragar & Note concerns captured critical regional R&B, soul, and funk from 1968-1976. Compiling 34 tracks and sprawled across two LPs, this 15 year anniversary deluxe edition appears on vinyl for the first time. Featuring rare-as-hens-teeth 45s by Eula Cooper, Tee Fletcher, Richard Cook, Frankie & Robert, Tokay Lewis, Nathan Wilkes, Chuck Wilder, Bill Wright, Sonia Ross, Sandy Gaye, Four Tracks, Young Divines, and several others we can’t fit on a hype sticker.

On March 1, 2004, Numero issued the first volume of our long-running Eccentric Soul series. The Capsoul Label was our first foray into the world of regional soul music, and over the next twenty years we issued nearly two dozen volumes, documenting such far ranging locales as Wichita, Kansas, San Antonia, Texas, and Norfolk, Virginia, and labels named Deep City, Twinight, and Way Out. These parallel soul universes were filled with endless replication: the Berry Gordy phenotype, the James Brown archetype, the Temptations chromosome, copied and mimicked and mutated into a thousand forms. When a true hit made its big splash, Eccentric Soul was that very last ripple.

To commemorate two decades of Eccentric Soul, Numero is issuing eight new volumes. As we began in Ohio with Capsoul, we’ll do so again with Tony March’s Youngstown-based Tammy concern. We’ll head back to Miami and finally deal with Frank Williams’ wildly collectable Saadia imprint. Abe Epstein’s San Antonio powerhouse Cobra gets the treatment, as does Lenny LaCour’s Magic Touch, and Mel Alexander’s sprawling Consolidated Productions (with each of these getting a sequel in 2025!). Even Howard Neale’s micro-indie Shoestring has been dissected and highlighted for the stunning work he was able to achieve from his Alton, Illinois, basement. A wildly deep collection of recordings made at Sauk City, Wisconsin’s Cuca will finally see a vinyl pressing, as will The Tragar & Note Labels, and a boil down of our Omnibus 45x45 box set for those that missed out on that now-$1500 doorstop.

Track List

  1. Tee Fletcher Down In The Country
  2. Bill Wright You Got A Spell On Me
  3. Eula Cooper Shake Daddy Shake
  4. The Knights Tipping Strings
  5. L. Daniels Nitecap (Instrumental)
  6. Frankie & Robert Sweet Thing
  7. Franciene Thomas I'll Be There
  8. Richard Cook Somebody Got'a Help Me
  9. Frankie & Robert Love (It's Been So Long)
  10. The Knights The Hump (Instrumental)
  11. Chuck Wilder The Clown
  12. Tokay Lewis Who Wants Me Now
  13. Nathan Wilkes Now That I'm Wise
  14. Langston & French Tumbling Down
  15. Eula Cooper Heavenly Father
  16. Tokay Lewis What Can The Matter Be
  17. Richard Cook Love Is So Mean
  18. Bill Wright You're The Only Thing I've Got Going For Me
  19. Sonia Ross Every Now And Then
  20. Sandy Gaye Watch The Dog That Bring The Bone
  21. Bobby Owens & The Diplomats Messing Around
  22. Bill Wright How Can I Hit The Ball
  23. Tee Fletcher All Because Of You
  24. Eula Cooper Standing By Love
  25. Four Tracks Charade
  26. The Young Divines Deep In Your Heart
  27. Eula Cooper I Need You More
  28. Chuck Wilder Why
  29. Sonia Ross Let Me Be Free
  30. Eula Cooper Try
  31. Young Divines Ain't That Sharp
  32. Franciene Thomas Too Beautiful To Be Good
  33. Sonia Ross Breaking My Heart
  34. Four Tracks You Mean Everything To Me