Album cover

Eccentric Soul

The Forte Label

From 1967-1980, Kansas City’s Forte Records captured nearly every iteration of popular Black music; basement beehiver-y from The Ray-Ons and Four Darlings, funky soul from Gene Williams Lee Harris, Louis Chachere, and The Fantastiks, downtempo disco ballads from James Whitney and Sharon Revoal, and the newly independent work of James Brown’s former Soul Sister #1 Marva Whitney. Compiled here are 28 of the label’s enduring sides, contextualized with copious photos, ephemera, and essay, all housed in heavy weight gatefold jacket. Who knows how to do “The Hen”?

  • Black Vinyl (2xLP)

    2 150g LPs
    1 2-pocket gatefold tip-on LP jacket
    1 16-page 11" x 11" LP book
    1 download coupon

Track List

  1. Gene Williams Don't Let Your Love Fade Away
  2. Lee Harris I'm Gonna Get Your Thing
  3. Tear Drops I'm Gonna Get You
  4. Louis Chachere The Hen Pt. 1
  5. The Fantasticks Cry Night and Day
  6. Marva Whitney I've Lived the Life
  7. The Fabulous Rhythm Makers Mini, Mini Afro Twist
  8. Tony Ashley And The Delicates I'll Never Be Satisfied
  9. The Rayons You Confuse Me Baby
  10. The Four Darlings Baby Your Love Is Amazing
  11. Lee Harris Lookin' Good
  12. Marva Whitney Daddy Don't Know About Sugar Bear
  13. Gene Williams Whatever You Do, Do It Good
  14. Everyday People Is It Really That Bad?
  15. The Rayons Baby Be Good
  16. Tony Ashley And The Delicates All Along I've Loved You
  17. Lee Harris I've Got To Have Somebody's Love
  18. Everyday People Super Black
  19. James Whitney With Fun In My Life
  20. Sharon Revoal Reaching For Our Star
  21. Marva Whitney Nothing I'd Rather Be (Than Your Weakness)
  22. The Four Darlings Give Me Love
  23. Unknown Artist Dearest Lover
  24. The Fantasticks Live and Let Live
  25. The Fabulous Rhythm Makers Ya Gotta Be Doing It
  26. Lee Harris Skate Boogaloo and Karate Too
  27. Tear Drops Don't Fade Away
  28. Marva Whitney And Ellis