Album cover


Barely Real

Note: This item is only available to ship to the UK & EU. 

After the scrapped Dessau sessions in 1992, Codeine returned with an EP of icy and effervescent tracks. Clocking in at a brisk 25 minutes, the six-song 12" features drummer Chris Brokaw’s final recordings with the group, plus noisy guitar from Bitch Magnet’s Jon Fine and a solo piano arrangement from Bastro’s David Grubbs. Remastered from the original analog tapes and recreated in painstaking detail, Barely Real is the slowcore classic your therapist warned you about. 

“As far away from traditional rock & roll heat as a post-stellar universe is to the Big Bang.” — The Quietus


BUNDLE & BONUS: Grab all 3 releases in the new Codeine drop and get a bonus 7" single: 3 Angels b/w Pea. Available in Black, Splatter, or Color Blob Vinyl (Numero Exclusive)...choose wisely.

Track List

  1. Codeine Realize
  2. Codeine Jr
  3. Codeine Barely Real
  4. Codeine Hard To Find
  5. Codeine W.
  6. Codeine Promise Of Love