Album cover

Indian Summer

Giving Birth to Thunder

The fourth leg on the early emo table of Rites of Spring, Moss Icon, and Cap’n Jazz, Indian Summer’s Giving Birth To Thunder compiles their complete discography. Emo’s second wave crashed into the Bay Area in the summer of 1994 in a rage-filled capsule of quiet and loud, octave chords, angry sons, Spock haircuts, and screaming. At the eye of this pissed-for-the-hell-of-it storm were Indian Summer. In the quartet’s 12-month existence they wrote ten songs, appeared on half a dozen singles and comps, and played over 100 gigs across the U.S. and Canada before burning out, passing out, and moving out of their Blue House in Oakland. Their hand-screened aesthetic is replicated in alarming detail in the accompanying 28-page book with detailed liner notes, flyers, and miscellaneous propaganda.

Track List

  1. Indian Summer Aren’t You, Angel?
  2. Indian Summer mm.
  3. Indian Summer Woolworm
  4. Indian Summer Reflections on Milkweed
  5. Indian Summer Sugar Pill
  6. Indian Summer I Think Your Train Is Leaving
  7. Indian Summer Touch The Wing of an Angel… Doesn’t Mean You Can Fly
  8. Indian Summer Truman
  9. Indian Summer Orchard
  10. Indian Summer ???