Album cover

Niela Miller

Songs Of Leaving

Culled from a warped acetate cut at Variety Recording Service in 1962, Songs Of Leaving is the complete songbook of New York folkie Niela Miller. Something of a Bleeker & MacDougal scenester, Miller picked up the guitar after an encounter with Eric Weissberg, lent her Martin to Pete Seeger, and even had Dave Van Ronk cover “Mean World Blues.” Her real claim to fame, however, is in writing “Baby Don’t Go To Town,” a song that boyfriend Billy Roberts would steal and “rewrite” as “Hey Joe.” You’ve heard Hendrix, Love, the Byrds, the Creation, Wilson Pickett, and a hundred others do it....Now hear the original, for the very first time.

  • LP

    1 150g LP
    1 tip-on single LP jacket
    1 download code
    1 Numero Catalog

Track List

  1. Niela Miller Down Hearted Man
  2. Niela Miller Baby Don't Go Downtown
  3. Niela Miller Too Long Blues
  4. Niela Miller You Gotta Know How To Love
  5. Niela Miller Daddy Went To Jail
  6. Niela Miller Hushabye Blues
  7. Niela Miller Mean World
  8. Niela Miller Goodbye New York
  9. Niela Miller The World Ain't Ready
  10. Niela Miller Jenny Gal