Album cover

Eccentric Soul

The Cuca Label (2xLP)

Late night '60s R&B caught on tape at Jim Kirchstein's jack-of-all genres Cuca studio. Released on minuscule pressings into the Wisconsin wilderness, these 26 sasquatch-rare tracks uncover the soulful paths between the Chicago, Milwaukee and Rockford scenes. Featuring Harvey Scales, Step By Step, Betty Moorer, Seven Sounds, Twilighters, Birdlegs & Pauline, Esquires, Artie & The Pharaohs, and Fantastic Six, this 2xLP tells an alternate history of soul music that could only happen in the Hinterlands on Highway 12.


Pre-order: Release date is July 12th - Orders will begin shipping in late June!

Track List

  1. Twiliters Restless Love
  2. Harvey Scales & The Seven Sounds Glamour Girl
  3. The Devils & The Devilettes I'll Say
  4. Little Artie & The Pharaohs It Puzzles Me
  5. Birdlegs & Pauline Too Much At Stake
  6. Betty Moorer The Long Hot Summer
  7. The Esquires You Don't Care
  8. Supremes Four I Lost My Job (And I've Got to Find Another)
  9. Harvey Scales & The Seven Sounds Ten Thousand Years
  10. Betty Moorer One More Time
  11. The Devils & The Devilettes I'm Leaving You
  12. Supremes Four I Love You, Patricia
  13. Twiliters We Three
  14. The Devils & The Devilettes Tell Me
  15. Step By Step Time After Time
  16. Harvey Scales & The Seven Sounds Independency
  17. Betty Moorer My Man Lives
  18. Twiliters Can't You Stay A Little Longer
  19. The Devils Ft. J. Watson Vance Love And Understanding
  20. Step By Step She's Gone
  21. Twistin' Harvey Every Step Of The Way
  22. Twiliters Girl Of My Dreams
  23. Fantastic Six I Never Knew Love
  24. Artie & The Pharaohs I'll Take Care Of You
  25. Birdlegs & Pauline Mist Of A Dream
  26. Rex Swanigan and The Fabulous Troubadores Tribute To Jimi Hendrix