Album cover


From Champaign To Chicago

An homage to the prairie state Numero calls home, From Champaign To Chicago is a 19-track survey of Illinois’ Cheapest Tricks. Reaching back to 1973’s Peoria outliers the Jets and winding up in 1987 with Romeoville’s Julian Leal and his Dick Clark-approved “Get Away,” From Champaign To Chicago connects, via map, pins, and string, the various scenes that pockmarked the face of the Land of Lincoln. Chicago’s Prettyboys, Tom Orsi, All-Night Newsboys, Kevin Lee & Heartbeat, Band Jocks, Northshore, Paul, the Kind, and Loose Lips are tethered to Rockford’s the Names; Champaign’s Vertebrats, Contra-Band, and the Nines; LaSalle’s the Jerks; Joliet’s Lay-Z; and Zion’s Shoes...through the clubs, booking agents, weekly newspapers, and regional radio stations they were all fighting for access to. Our CD edition has been given Numero's signature treatment, complete with exhaustive histories of each band’s sonic contribution, whereas the double LP includes all of this, plus an attractive 7” plastic sleeve housing 19 individual glossy liner sheets featuring forgotten promo shots on their respective flipsides.

  • 2xLP

    2 150g LP
    1 2-pocket gatefold tip-on LP jacket
    1 poly bag of 11 inserts
    1 download coupon

Track List

  1. Prettyboys I Want To Make You!
  2. Julian Leal Get Away
  3. All-Night Newsboys She's Gone Hollywood
  4. The Names It's A Miracle
  5. Kevin Lee & Heartbeat Tonight
  6. Band Jocks At Practice
  7. The Vertebrats Diamonds In The Rough (Nineteen)
  8. Nines Holiday
  9. The Jerks So Life Like
  10. North Shore Schoolyard
  11. Paul I Have Always Loved You
  12. Tom Orsi Where Are You Now
  13. The Kind Total Insanity
  14. Eyz Midnight Girls
  15. Shoes In My Arms Again
  16. Loose Lips Kyle
  17. Lay-Z More And More
  18. The Jets Be For Me
  19. Contraband See You Tonight