Album cover

Joanna Brouk

Hearing Music

She was a composer who wrote scores with geometric shapes, a poet who became a pioneer of early electronic music. Joanna Brouk’s body of work exists at the nexus between ambient, new age, drone, and classical minimalism—stark in its simplicity, lush in its expanse. Studying under Robert Ashley and Terry Riley at the fabled Mills College Center For Contemporary Music before graduating into the margins of the ’70s Bay Area new music scene, Ms. Brouk blazed her own trail well outside of the musical establishment to create uncompromising electronic and acoustic work of sleek beauty and primal power. Describing herself as less a composer than a channel, she took her cues from the frequencies of the natural world and the talents of collaborators like Maggi Payne and Bill Maraldo. Hearing Music collects for the first time the deepest cuts from her beguiling and rare cassette releases and her archive of previously unreleased recordings.

Track List

  1. Joanna Brouk Going Through The Veil - Becoming A Swan
  2. Joanna Brouk Maggi's Flute - Lifting Off
  3. Joanna Brouk Maggi's Flute - Mary's Watch (Part 1)
  4. Joanna Brouk Maggi's Flute - Mary's Watch (Part 2)
  5. Joanna Brouk Maggi's Flute - Mary's Watch (Part 3)
  6. Joanna Brouk Maggi's Flute - Mary's Watch (Part 4)
  7. Joanna Brouk Fire Breath
  8. Joanna Brouk The Creative
  9. Joanna Brouk The Space Between
  10. Joanna Brouk Majesty Suites - Entrance of the Queen of Winter Dawn
  11. Joanna Brouk Invocation
  12. Joanna Brouk Atavesta
  13. Joanna Brouk Playing in the Water
  14. Joanna Brouk Aurora
  15. Joanna Brouk Diving Deeper, Remembering Love
  16. Joanna Brouk Going to Sleep
  17. Joanna Brouk The Reminder of Long Ago
  18. Joanna Brouk The Nymph Rising, Calling the Sailor
  19. Joanna Brouk First Meeting
  20. Joanna Brouk Touching the Sky
  21. Joanna Brouk The Sounding
  22. Joanna Brouk Return to the Deep