Album cover

Local Customs

Downriver Revival

Between 1967 and 1981, Detroit’s downriver neighbor Ecorse, Michigan, had its very own Moe Asch. Set up in a basement on 18th Avenue, electronics wiz, guitarist, and Ford plant foreman Felton Williams chronicled the musical lives of Ecorse’s citizens and issued them on his Solid Rock, Compose, Cass, and Revival labels. Compiled here are 24 of Williams’ most fascinating recordings, covering gospel, group soul, garage-punk, jazz, and funk. An entire basement of dreams crammed into one tidy package.

Also included is a Region 1 DVD stuffed with more than 200 sound recordings culled from Williams’ extensive archive, giving the listener a chance to hear every demo, steel guitar tutorial, and choir practice, plus a 30-minute documentary film featurette on the making of Downriver Revival.

  • 2xLP+DVD

    2 x 120 gram LPs
    25 tracks totaling 76 minutes
    1 x Full color gatefold tip-on jacket
    1 x Region 1 DVD with 200 MP3s and documentary
  • CD+DVD

    1 x Compact Disc
    25 tracks totaling 76 minutes
    1 x full color slipcase
    1 x 32 page saddle-stitched booklet
    1 x Region 1 DVD with 200 MP3s and documentary

Track List

  1. Shirley Ann Lee There's A Light
  2. The Gospel Supremes Sinner Man
  3. Coleman Family Peace On Earth
  4. Calvin Cooke Walk With Me
  5. Shirley Ann Lee I Shall Not Be Moved
  6. The Revelations Take Care Of Us
  7. Bobby Cook & The Explosions Untitled
  8. The Organics Footstumpin' (Alternate Take)
  9. The Combinations While You Were Gone
  10. The Apostles Of Music Wade In The Water
  11. Deliverance Echoes Heaven
  12. Bobby Cook & The Explosions On The Way
  13. Shirley Ann Lee How Can I Lose
  14. The Young Generation Running Mod
  15. The Burgess Band Untitled
  16. Bobby Cook & The Explosions Ridin' High
  17. The Mighty Voices Of Wonder Every Year Carries A Number
  18. Shirley Ann Lee Please Accept My Prayer
  19. Calvin Cooke What Happens To People
  20. Coleman Family People Has It Hard
  21. Junior Mays Group Round n' Round
  22. Pilgrim Wonders He Never Failed
  23. The Mighty Walker Brothers He'll Make A Way
  24. Voices Of Deliverance The Power Of God