Album cover

Various Artists

Beehive Breaks

15 Funky Honeys straight from the cone.

A crate staple for any lover of feminine funk, Beehive Breaks gathers 15 sultry singles from across the Numero-verse. From Sandy Gaye’s Cruella-synched “Watch The Dog That Brings The Bone” to James Brown’s soul sister #1 Marva Whitney, teenage girl gangs The Trinikas and Promise, Miami’s queen of soul Betty Wright, plus a previously unissued belter from Chicago’s Sonics Band, Beehive Breaks picks up where sister funk left off.

Track List

  1. Sandy Gaye Watch The Dog That Bring The Bone
  2. Betty Wright Mr. Lucky
  3. Marva Whitney Daddy Don't Know About Sugar Bear
  4. The Trinikas Remember Me
  5. Betty & Angel Honey Coated Loving
  6. Arelean Brown I'm A Streaker Baby
  7. The 20th Century Hot Pants (Part I)
  8. Promise I’m Not Ready for Love
  9. Pearl Dowdell Good Things
  10. Fay Cooper Closer Together
  11. Lolla Collins Save The Children (If There Is To Be A Tomorrow)
  12. Soul Revival Do What You Gotta Do
  13. Mae Young You Got Me Under Your Spell
  14. The Ba-Roz Come Back Boy
  15. Sonics Ban Second Avenue