Album cover

Eccentric Soul

The Tammy Label

Lost in the soot and fallout from Youngstown, Ohio’s infamous Black Monday steel industry collapse was Tony March’s cross-generational Tammy label. From its early days as a doo wop powerhouse to their last gasps chasing disco hits, Tammy unintentionally documented Youngstown’s small but prolific Black music scene. This single LP surveys the label’s best R&B, soul, funk, and disco, with 13 tracks from Ice Cold Love, Lynn Minor, J.C. & the Soul Angels, The Snapshots, Iron Knowledge, Roy Jefferson, and Steel City Band. Housed in a deluxe tip-on jacket, with a booklet crammed full of notes and ephemera, The Tammy Label continues Numero’s 20 year tradition of preserving regional Ohio music.

Pre-order: Release Date is May 3, 2024 - Orders will begin shipping in April!

Track List

  1. Ice Cold Love Sheer Magic
  2. Lynn Minor and His Band I Finally Found True Love
  3. J.C. & The Soul Angels True Love Is Hard To Find
  4. Ice Cold Love Wonderful To Be Loved
  5. Iron Knowledge Oh Love
  6. The Snapshots Should I Believe You
  7. J.C. & the Soul Angels Angel's Theme
  8. J.C. & the Soul Angels Nightmare Strut
  9. J.C. & The Soul Angels Dance Party (Pt.1)
  10. Steel City Band Shakin' It Down (Pt.1)
  11. Iron Knowledge Give Me A Little Taste Of Your Love (Pt.2)
  12. Roy Jefferson with J.C. & the Soul Angels He's Got To Go (Pt. 1)*
  13. Lynn Minor And His Band Hesitate One Time For Me