Album cover

The Lijadu Sisters

Horizon Unlimited

Get out! Fight!” The Lijadu Sisters’ Horizon Unlimited is the insurgent afrofunk their second cousin Fela strived to create. Soulful, psychedelic, feminist, and revolutionary music already known worldwide, finally available again after a decade with The Lijadus’ approval and deep involvement.

“The Nigerian twins who fought the elite with funk” - The Guardian

"Trailblazers whose influence spans many genres and generations. From David Byrne to Nas...The Lijadu Sisters helped lay the foundation for African music's global resonance today" - Rolling Stone

 “I think one of the most exciting things about the reintroduction of Horizon Unlimited is the fact that young folk love our music, and are surprised at the upbeat tempo, and the lyrics, which are not only of today, but also very futuristic as well. Horizon Unlimited was our last album with Decca that came out in 1979. It’s been a long time since then and this really is part of a much longer story, but amongst one of the most significant things I remember was that we, The Lijadu Sisters, paid for all the studio and band session fees. At the time, this was unusual, and not the arrangement we had with that record label. We were originally meant to record at Decca West Africa in Lagos, but when we got to the studio, no one had told us that it was being upgraded – from eight tracks to twenty-four. So, we brought everyone to London and made the album there instead.”

–Yeye Taiwo Lijadu


The Lijadu Sisters and Numero Group are thrilled to announce an expansive new partnership that is equal parts reissue and reparation: a celebration and critical reappraisal for the musical and political impact of two iconic artists who have influenced and uplifted generations and a long-over due look back at their legendary career. As one of the only women-led acts making music at the outset of Nigeria’s national independence and cultural golden age, identical twin sisters Yeye Taiwo Lijadu and the late Kehinde Lijadu released five imperative albums in the 1970s who's sounds and influence managed to prevail now for 50+ years. The singular power of their harmonic singing, pioneering sound and trailblazing vision led to tours with David Byrne, inspired the work of fans like Amaarae, Ayra Starr, Hayley Williams, Jamie xx and Nas, and has cultivated a growing audience of hundreds of thousands of online listeners eager for more. 
Beginning September 20th, 2024, with the release of a remastered, restored and revelatory edition of 1979’s Horizon Unlimited, the album that produced an indelible hit in “Come On Home,” The Lijadu Sisters and Numero Group launch a multi-year, multi-record campaign to finally bring the duo’s entire discography to the masses. In addition to amending the material’s history of misuse, Numero Group will reissue each of the band’s LPs, as well as a collection of rediscovered, previously unavailable singles, promo EPs and rare recordings that the label has worked to unearth and soon debut in the West. 

Pre-order: Release date is September 20th - Orders will begin shipping in late August!

Also Available: Limited The Lijdadu Sisters Merch: 

Bonus Discount 15% off automatically in cart when bundling any The Lijadu Sisters merch and vinyl or CDs. 

Track List

  1. A1 Orere Elejigbo
  2. A2 Erora
  3. A3 Gbowo Mi
  4. B1 Gbalo Alogbalo
  5. B2 Come On Home
  6. B3 Not Any Longer