Album cover

Royal Jesters

English Oldies

The first ever compilation from the Alamo City’s scrappiest souleros. The Royal Jesters were the kings of San Antonio's cross-cultural teen scene in the 1960s, soundtracking lovelorn slow dances and sock hop twists alike. Clocking in at a whopping 28 songs, English Oldies compiles their singles for Abe Epstein’s Cobra and Jox labels, self released output on their own Jester and Clown imprints, and adds solo offerings from vocalists Joe Jama and Dimas Garza. This single CD or double LP showcases the best early doo-wop, R&B, and blazing Latin rock and soul from these Tex-Mex masterminds—a simmering melting pot of diverse regional flavors, best served hot. The group’s nearly 20-year career is captured in stunning period photos and in-depth liner notes, the perfect epitaph to the pompadoured and besuited sextet who once sang in a borrowed broken-hearted harmony.

  • 2xLP

    2 140g LP
    1 2-pocket gategold tip-on LP jacket with 4-page insert tipped in
    1 download coupon

Track List

  1. Dimas III So Funny
  2. Royal Jesters What Love Has Joined Together
  3. Royal Jesters I Want To Meet Her
  4. Royal Jesters Let’s Kiss And Make Up
  5. Royal Jesters Lonely Guy
  6. Royal Jesters I Never Will Forget
  7. Royal Jesters Meet Me Down In Soulsville
  8. Royal Jesters Afro-Lypso
  9. Royal Jesters Private Number
  10. Royal Jesters Use Your Head
  11. Royal Jesters My Kind Of Woman
  12. Joe Jama My Life
  13. Joe Jama Sleep Late My Lady Friend
  14. Royal Jesters Spainish Grease
  15. Royal Jesters Let There Be You
  16. Royal Jesters Manning Ave.
  17. Royal Jesters Lady Sunshine
  18. Royal Jesters Back To You
  19. Dimas III Just A Friend
  20. Dimas III Not The Right Time
  21. Dimas III You’ve Succeeded
  22. Royal Jesters Theme For A Lonely Girl
  23. Dimas III I Won't Love You Again
  24. Royal Jesters Take Me For A Little While
  25. Royal Jesters I’m So Sorry
  26. Royal Jesters What’cha Gonna Do ‘Bout It?
  27. Royal Jesters We Go Together
  28. Royal Jesters I’ve Got Soul