Album cover

Southwest Side Story

Vol. 19

There are hundreds of bootlegs out there to sate the ravenous soulero set, and so often they incorporate songs in the vast Numero catalog. Rather than beat them, Numero joins them with our answer to the iconic East Side Story series. Eschewing our classic look and standard-bearing copious notes for sardonic artwork and impeccable selections, Numbero is proud to present a ‘bootleg’ you can be proud of (because it’s all licensed). This time we’ve set our sights on the most unique of soul cultures: the irreplicable melting pot of San Antonio. Included here are all songs never before issued other than in minuscule pressings on 45, never distributed outside of Bexar County limits.

The Southwest Side Story rolas are obscure everywhere in the United States while eliciting intense nostalgia on the South and West Sides of San Antonio to this day. This could be a greatest hits of DJs like Henry Pena, who began his rein in the ’60s and continues it today with many of these same selections. Including such local luminaries as the Royal Jesters, Sonny Ace, the Dreamliners, Al Castana, Dino Bazan & the Dell Tones, George Jay & the Rockin’ Ravens, the Eptones, the Volumes, and Henry Pena, who never fully disappeared from view in the Alamo City.

Track List

  1. Royal Jesters Girl I Can't Forget
  2. The Eptones Making Me Cry
  3. Henry Pena & The Kasuals Only One
  4. Little Henry & The Laveers What To Do
  5. Al Castana I Need And Love You
  6. Royal Jesters I Want To Be Loved
  7. The Dreamliners Just Me And You
  8. Danny & The Dreamers Eternal Love
  9. Sonny Ace Little Girl
  10. The Eptones No One Else But You
  11. Volumes I'm Gonna Miss You
  12. Henry Pena & The Kasuals Forever
  13. George Jay & The Rockin' Ravens Say That You Love Me
  14. Dino Bazan & The Dell Tones Don't Leave Me Baby