Album cover


The White Birch

Note: This item is only available to ship to the UK & EU.

A white ship sailing in a sea of blackness, Codeine’s swan song arrived in 1994 amid grunge’s ascension to alt radio’s godhead status. John Engle’s guitar alternates between crystalline and sludge, and Stephen Immerwhar’s distorted bass floats on top of punishing drums from newcomer Doug Scharin (Rex, June of 44), resulting in nine perfect meditations on the loneliness and uncertainty of early adulthood. 

“Codeine’s unyielding numbness creates its own kind of warmth — the feeling of cold water running for so long that it suddenly feels hot.” —Spin


BUNDLE & BONUS: Grab all 3 releases in the new Codeine drop and get a bonus 7" single: 3 Angels b/w Pea. Available in Black, Splatter, or Color Blob Vinyl (Numero Exclusive)...choose wisely.

Track List

  1. Codeine Sea
  2. Codeine Loss Leader
  3. Codeine Vacancy
  4. Codeine Kitchen Light
  5. Codeine Washed Up
  6. Codeine Tom
  7. Codeine Ides
  8. Codeine Wird
  9. Codeine Smoking Room